Five Minute Friday: Control

control

Joining Kate Motaung and the Five Minute Friday Community for our weekly writing adventure. To learn more about Five Minute Friday, click here. This week’s prompt is “Control.”

Control. There is a peace which comes from accepting there are limits to what I can control. To accepting that, more often than not, and especially when other people are involved in the equation, I have less control than I may think.

Control. There is a peace that comes with accepting that I have less of it than maybe I would like. But this acceptance does not give me a waiver to be irresponsible, to say whatever and do whatever I choose. Rather, it frees me to focus my attention and efforts on developing self-control.

Self-control. My Father clearly communicates this is a trait He expects me to have. This is evident in both the Old and New Testaments. From verses such as Proverbs 16:32 which states, “Better a patient person than a warrior, one with self-control than one who takes a city,” to 2 Peter 1:4-7, which instruct me to “make every effort” to add self-control to knowledge.

Thankfully, self-control is also a component of the fruit of the Spirit, so I do not have to give in to despair when I fall short of the mark. Instead, I can yield to Him with the confidence that He is effectually working in me, giving me both the desire and ability to do what pleases Him.

4 thoughts on “Five Minute Friday: Control

  1. I love how you bring the word peace into this post about control. It really does line up into self control, because I believe there is a lot of peace in self control.
    Great post today. 🙂 Dropping by from FMF
    Have a lovely weekend!

  2. “Instead, I can yield to Him with the confidence that He is effectually working in me, giving me both the desire and ability to do what pleases Him.” Yes! His mercies are new every morning….I’m your neighbor # 58 at FMF link-up.

Leave a Reply

