Monday Vitamins: Joy

joyThis is week three of the Advent season. I searched various resources for a definition of joy but all seemed to come up short.  Then I found this quote:

“Joy is the infallible sign of the presence of God.”
– Pierre Teilhard de Chardin

And it helped me understand my dissatisfaction with the definitions I saw in the dictionaries and other resources; in those resources, joy was related to circumstances, as shown in the following example, “the emotion evoked by well-being, success, or good fortune or by the prospect of possessing what one desires.” But we who accepted His gift of salvation know it is possible to experience joy in adverse circumstances, because of the reasons given in His written Word:

He is our joy:

Then I will go to the altar of God,
to God, my joy and my delight.
I will praise you with the lyre,
O God, my God” (Psalm 43:4, NIV; emphasis added).

Joy is a component of the fruit of the Spirit:

“But the fruit of the Spirit is love, joy, peace, forbearance, kindness, goodness, faithfulness,  gentleness and self-control. Against such things there is no law” (Galatians 5:22-23, NIV; emphasis added).

And in God’s presence there is fullness of joy:

“You will show me the path of life;
In Your presence is fullness of joy;
In Your right hand there are pleasures forevermore”
(Psalm 16:11, AMP; emphasis added).

As we go through this week, may we do so with the knowledge that He is our joy, with a renewed awareness of His constant presence with us, and with a steady yielding to His Spirit.

 

NIV – New International Version
AMP – Amplified Bible

 

2 thoughts on “Monday Vitamins: Joy

  1. Beautiful. I’m up to “joy” in a blog series I’m writing about the Fruit of the Spirit. I’m struggling! (I mean, I’ve procrastinated for months over this one!) Your post has given me some inspiration. Thank you!
    – Ruth

Leave a Reply

