31 Days of Loving Well & FMF: Discover

Discover

Discover
verb
: to see, find, or become aware of (something) for the first time
: to show the presence of (something hidden or difficult to see) : to make (something) known
: to learn or find out (something surprising or unexpected)


Is there anyone we take for granted more,
assume that we know so well
that we do not see the need
to discover anything new about them,
than our loved ones (family and friends?)

This is the place into which today’s FMF prompt has ushered me –
The recognition that I have not taken the time to ask questions of my loved ones.

Do not get me wrong. I do ask how they are doing and, most of the time, listen closely as they speak.

It is also true that, especially for my siblings, I can sometimes sense that something is not okay, just by the sound of their voices or what they do not say.

But I realize that there are details of their lives that I do not know.

Yes, it is true that, as the youngest in a large family, aspects of their lives occurred before I was born.

But this makes it even more necessary for me to intentionally create opportunities for them to tell me their stories.

To have them tell and me listen with caring curiosity, is an act of loving well.


Today’s post was written for Day 20 of the 31 Days of Loving Well series, and Five Minute Friday. This series, 31 Days of Loving Well, is part of the 31 Days of Five Minute Free Writes event. The prompt is, “Discover.” To read other posts in the 31 Days of Loving Well series, please click here.

7 thoughts on “31 Days of Loving Well & FMF: Discover

  1. “To have them tell and me listen with caring curiosity, is an act of loving well.”

    I love that, Esther. Such a good reminder for me to take the time to slow down and really hear what someone is saying (and, sometimes, what they aren’t saying). All too often we all just bottle things up and explode later. What a difference it would make to listen.

    1. “What a difference it would make to listen.” So true, Marie. To give someone our full attention and listen with the aim of understanding, rather than waiting to speak or give advice, can be a healing gift.

  2. I love researching for my writing projects…I know what curiosity looks like. But this is such a great charge—to reach out with caring curiosity to those we assume we know so well and desire to truly know them.

Leave a Reply

