Five Minute Friday: Place

Stay Strong and Free
There have always been strong opinions,
in America’s storied history,
of the appropriate place for people like me:
The cotton fields.
The back of the bus.
The limbs of a tree.
In segregated school systems.
At water fountains marked, “Colored Only.”

Oh yes, there have always been strong opinions,
in America’s storied history,
about the appropriate, the proper place, for people like me.
I have been told that Black lives do not matter.
But the Father disagrees.
And His truth is what matters,
for He who is Truth has set me free.
He left His place in heaven.
Walked the earth,
and took my place on a tree.
And He welcomes me
to be at home in His presence,
here on earth,
and one day, in the place He has prepared,
I will live eternally.

wp-1502563927399.jpg

I am joining Kate Motaung and other members of the Five Minute Friday community for our weekly writing adventure. To learn about Five Minute Friday, click here. “This week’s prompt is,”Place.”

10 thoughts on “Five Minute Friday: Place

Leave a Reply

