Five Minute Friday: Try

Try_No. I can do.

” I can do all things [which He has called me to do] through Him who strengthens and empowers me [to fulfill His purpose—I am self-sufficient in Christ’s sufficiency; I am ready for anything and equal to anything through Him who infuses me with inner strength and confident peace.]” (Philippians 4:13, AMP)

“I can do,”
He tells me in the familiar verse of Scripture, Philippians 4:13.

“I can do all things [which He has called me to do].”
And there is no wiggle room here in the Amplified Bible translation.
“I can do all things [[which He has called me to do] through Him who strengthens and empowers me…”

No wiggle room. No space for excuses.
No room for, “ I will try.”

“I can do all things [which He has called me to do] through Him who strengthens and empowers me [to fulfill His purpose – I am self-sufficient in Christ’s sufficiency;…”
Self-sufficient in Christ’s sufficiency.

“I am self-sufficient in Christ’s sufficiency; I am ready for anything and equal to anything through Him who infuses me with inner strength and confident peace.]”

Does this mean that I will do things perfectly?
No, but like a baby, I will crawl before I stand,
and fall when I begin to walk,
but I can and will do what He has called me to do.

try

I am joining Kate Motaung and other members of the Five Minute Friday Community for our weekly writing adventure.  To learn about Five Minute Friday, click here. This week’s prompt is “Try.”

I was contemplating a different direction for this post, then I read the stripping-away-that-hiding-place-and-making-you-face truth post by Marie, at Along the way. It set me back on my heels, so to speak, and give me a different perspective. Thanks, Marie.

 

9 thoughts on “Five Minute Friday: Try

  1. I love the Amplified version of that verse! “I can do all things which He has called me to do.” He doesn’t ask me or you or anyone else to do everything. We don’t have to have the weight of the world on our shoulders. All we have to do is what He wants us to do and He always empowers us to get it done. Such a refreshing reminder!

    Also, thanks for linking back to my post. 🙂

  2. I love the word empower in this context! Yes! We are empowered and enabled to do these things. Thanks for visiting me today. I’m grateful to be reflecting on the word “with” you.

  3. “I am self-sufficient in Christ’s sufficiency; I am ready for anything and equal to anything through Him who infuses me with inner strength and confident peace.]”

    This is what I love. Confident peace. It is secure. It is real. It is no nonsense. Love this post. Thanks for this!

Leave a Reply

