Your pace

 

Your Pace.png

I was on the return leg of my morning walk. Perhaps the turtle was also. It was moving up a slight grassy incline of the golf course which ran parallel to the sidewalk where I walked.

wp-image-1171514837jpg.jpg

I cannot recall if I voiced my doubt or just thought it, but I was certain the turtle could not reach the top of the incline.

It was the first one I had seen personally, so I  drew near for a closer look, the story of the tortoise and the hare, in mind. Naturally, the turtle responded by pulling its head into its shell and stopped moving.

I resumed my journey and when I glanced over my shoulder, noticed that the turtle had not only proven me wrong by reaching the top of the incline, its pace was faster than I had expected. I sprinted back to it and captured its movement, first in a photo, then in a video.

Like the turtle, may we keep moving at our own pace and ignore the naysayers. May we also adhere to the wisdom provided in Hebrews  12:1-3 (AMP).

12 Therefore, since we are surrounded by so great a cloud of [a]witnesses [who by faith have testified to the truth of God’s absolute faithfulness], stripping off every unnecessary weight and the sin which so easily and cleverly entangles us, let us run with endurance and active persistence the race that is set before us, [looking away from all that will distract us and] focusing our eyes on Jesus, who is the Author and Perfecter of faith [the first incentive for our belief and the One who brings our faith to maturity], who for the joy [of accomplishing the goal] set before Him endured the cross, [b]disregarding the shame, and sat down at the right hand of the throne of God [revealing His deity, His authority, and the completion of His work].

Just consider and meditate on Him who endured from sinners such bitter hostility against Himself [consider it all in comparison with your trials], so that you will not grow weary and lose heart.

Leave a Reply

