Expecting Jesus

expecting JESUS

“It would make a difference to live with more of a focus on expecting Jesus.” This statement was part of a comment a fellow member of a writing community made in response to my recent post, “Expect.” Her words resonated with me, especially the phrase, “expecting Jesus.” I continue to reflect on the words and on one of the definitions of “expect” – to anticipate or look forward to the coming or occurrence of. “Expecting Jesus” – To anticipate or look forward to the coming of Jesus.

This anticipation can be connected to Him “showing up” in our lives, that is, accomplishing what we are incapable of doing ourselves. But as welcomed as such occurrences are, I turn my attention again to His return, which is a promise recorded in John 14:1-3,”…I go to prepare a place for you. And if I go and prepare a place for you, I will come again and receive you to Myself; that where I am, there you may be also” (emphasis added).

The promise of His return is reiterated many times in Scripture; for example, in Acts 1:9-11, 1 Thessalonians 4:16-17, and Hebrews 9:28. As I shared in the previous post, I want to begin to anticipate His return. But I do not want to long for His return just as a way to escape the pressures, pain, and tragedies of life (examples of which abound in the USA and around the world, just in the past two weeks).

More than wanting Him to return to put all things right, I want to long for His return because He has become the Lover of my soul. Because I believe in His love for me. I want to long for His return because I have come to love Him with my all of my heart, mind, and strength, because He first loved me. I want to long for His return because an ache has developed in my soul to see the One Who willingly laid aside His glory and became flesh for me. The One Who suffered incomprehensible agony, was crucified, buried and rose again for me. To see the One Who ascended on high and is seated at the right hand of the Father, interceding for me. For us. These are the reasons I want to live “expecting Jesus.”

I am not yet living, “expecting Jesus;” Oh, but it is the longing of my heart to do so. I know that when I begin to do so, this mindset will not make me so “heavenly minded that I am no earthly good.” Instead, among other changes, my priorities will change so that pleasing Him will take precedence over pleasing people and, what matters most to Him, will be what matters most to me.

What are some of the things we can do to develop and maintain this mindset of “living, expecting Jesus?” I would appreciate you sharing your thoughts in the comments.

 

Leave a Reply

