Five Minute Friday: Visit

Visit.png

I am joining Kate Motaung and other members of the Five Minute Friday community for our weekly writing adventure. To learn about Five Minute Friday, click here. This week’s prompt is, “Visit.”

GO

One of the most powerful visits recorded in the Bible, at least that is my opinion, is Mary’s visit to Elizabeth. At the time, Elizabeth was 6 months pregnant with the forerunner of Jesus, John the Baptist. Mary, herself, had recently learned that she was chosen to be the mother of the long promised Messiah. It was in her womb God would hide Himself in seed form, grow, and then be birthed, like an ordinary baby, when He was anything but.

It was an amazing visit. From the time Elizabeth heard Mary’s greeting, the Bible records, her baby leaped in her womb. Listen to some of Elizabeth’s words, “Who am I that the mother of my Lord should come and visit me? Mary responded in worship, with words that we have come to know as “The Magnificat.” “My soul magnifies the Lord, and my spirit rejoices in God my Savior. “

Yes, it was an amazing visit.

STOP

I pray that in my ordinary, everyday encounters, when I “visit with someone,” before the interaction ends, even when it is brief, in some way, and somehow, He will be exalted.

11 thoughts on “Five Minute Friday: Visit

  1. I love that you thought of this account from the bible for today’s word prompt. It was an excellent visit. Makes you want to pay closer attention to all encounters. What an adventure that would be. Thanks so much for sharing 🙂
    Your neighbor here at FMF.

  2. Next to Mary’s visit from the angel, this is my favorite story to read early in the year, thinking about Mary during those months prior to the birth of Jesus. I embrace your application prayer: “I pray that in my ordinary, everyday encounters, … somehow, He will be exalted.” 🙂 Alice, “visit”-ing from spot 5 at FMF this week.

  3. What a good story to apply the word, “visit” too! The thought didn’t even cross my mind when thinking of visit but yes, this is one of those “visits” where two women meet with two of the most important beings growing in their wombs. Beautiful!

    • Thank you, Bonnie. Your comment showed me the importance of recognizing, every time I interact with a fellow Christian, that God resides in each of His children, by His Spirit.

  4. That was such an amazing visit and must have been a huge encouragement to both Mary and Elizabeth, and I love your prayer that God would be glorified through our everyday encounters and visits with others.

    • Thanks for your visit, Lesley. You noting that the visit must have been a huge encouragement to both Mary and Elizabeth, reminded me that, after telling Mary that God has chosen her to give birth to the Messiah,, the angel also told her, “Elizabeth your relative has also conceived a son in her old age; and this is now the sixth month for her who was called barren. For with God nothing will be impossible..” I think God knew they needed the encouragement that only they could provide to each other. Thanks for encouraging me. May He use us to encourage others this week. Blessings.

Leave a Reply

