His Resurrection: Historical and Personal

His Resurrection.png

Two weeks have passed since I joined with millions around the world to celebrate Easter. I realized, sometime ago, that I have not celebrated the Resurrection of Christ Jesus in as similar a manner as I celebrate His birth. But the truth is, it is the Resurrection of Christ Jesus that gives Christmas its true meaning. Isaiah 9:6 declares,

For unto us a Child is born,

Unto us a Son is given;

And the government will be upon His shoulder.

And His name will be called

Wonderful, Counselor, Mighty God,

Everlasting Father, Prince of Peace.

Christ Jesus, the Child who was born and the Son who was given, came to redeem us and our redemption required His brutal death and His glorious Resurrection. We are told in 1 Corinthians 15:14-20 (AMP) that, without His Resurrection,  our faith is “vain [imaginary, unfounded, devoid of value and benefit—not based on truth]” and “worthless and powerless [mere delusion ].” Furthermore, “ If we who are [abiding] in Christ have hoped only in this life [and this is all there is], then we are of all people most miserable and to be pitied.  But now [as things really are] Christ has in fact been raised from the dead, [and He became] the first fruits [that is, the first to be resurrected with an incorruptible, immortal body, foreshadowing the resurrection] of those who have fallen asleep [in death]. “

I desire that the truth of Christ’s Resurrection permeate my daily living. That I meet every challenge and celebrate every victory with this truth, “But now [as things really are] Christ has in fact been raised from the dead …” Upon reflecting on what the Resurrection of Christ Jesus means to me personally, four things come to mind:

1.     I am redeemed completely and am a dearly beloved child of God.

2.     I am forgiven and His Blood cleanses me from all sin.

3.     I do not have to fear death.

4.     I have a High Priest.

I find myself dwelling on the fact that I have a High Priest and on all the benefits of this truth, as highlighted in Hebrews 4:14-16 (AMP):

14 Inasmuch then as we [believers] have a great High Priest who has [already ascended and] passed through the heavens, Jesus the Son of God, let us hold fast our confession [of faith and cling tenaciously to our absolute trust in Him as Savior]. 15 For we do not have a High Priest who is unable to sympathize and understand our weaknesses and temptations, but One who has been tempted [knowing exactly how it feels to be human] in every respect as we are, yet without [committing any] sin. 16 Therefore let us [with privilege] approach the throne of grace [that is, the throne of God’s gracious favor] with confidence and without fear, so that we may receive mercy [for our failures] and find [His amazing] grace to help in time of need [an appropriate blessing, coming just at the right moment].

The Resurrection of Christ Jesus, a historical fact with personal meaning. What does His Resurrection mean to you? Please share your thoughts in the Comments. Christ is Risen! He is Risen Indeed!

5 thoughts on “His Resurrection: Historical and Personal

    1. Yes I knew I had that first line wrong when I was singing it this morning. Sorry my bad. I’ve only just heard it this past week – along with Even If– another of my new favorites.

Leave a Reply

