Five Minute Friday: Friend

friend.png

Joining Kate Motaung and the Five Minute Friday community for our weekly writing adventure. To learn about Five Minute Friday click here. This week’s prompt is “Friend.”

GO

I have lived most of my adult life in states where I did not have any family, the result of graduate schools and job opportunities. No, it has not been easy. Loneliness is something I became acquainted with intimately and telephone calls have been a life line. And with the addition of text messages, the opportunities to connect have expanded.

I have lived most of my adult life in states where I do not have any family but I have never lived in a state where God has not blessed me with dear friends, many of whom are like family. True friends are really a wonderful blessing and a priceless gift. There is no way to adequately describe the freedom of being with someone who has seen you in worn clothing, knows the security code to your home, has seen you ugly cry. Brings you flowers just because, is available at any time of day or night. Celebrates your accomplishments with abandon. Is a safe place and makes being vulnerable less scary. Trusts you and can be trusted. Thank you, Father for my dear friends.

STOP

 And a special thank you, Abba, for family members who are the dearest of friends. 

2 thoughts on “Five Minute Friday: Friend

Leave a Reply

