Five Minute Friday: Slow

slow.png

I am joining Kate Motaung and other members of the Five Minute Friday community (on a Saturday) for our weekly writing adventure. To learn about Five Minute Friday, click here. This week’s prompt is, “Slow.”

I have a crock pot. I have had it for over 10 years but have not used it ten times. It clearly is not one of the most frequently used items in my kitchen. Interestingly enough, when I do use it, I am always satisfied by the quality of the meal made.

Why have I not used it more? You guessed it. It is a slow cooker and unless I have intentionally chosen to cook a particular dish over an extended period of time, I use other utensils at my disposal.

I am thinking as I write of the things God has purposed for my life and yours. And how often, it seems that He is working very, very slowly to accomplish His goals. Much like if He is β€œcooking with a slow cooker.” But His timing is perfect. And He can never be rushed. And the finished product will always be worth the wait. Whether it is a situation or a change He is working in us.

 

13 thoughts on “Five Minute Friday: Slow

  1. Great point. Also remember, Good exists outside of time. In scripture how it talks about how a day is as a thousand years and a thousand years is as a day to Him? Yes, it’s all happens when He’s good and ready for it to happen. And yes, His timing is perfect. Great post E. πŸ™‚

  2. God definitely works slow and steady with us, and I am learning to be grateful for His pace in my life. I’ve got a lot of spiritual muscles that need to be stretched! I like your crock pot comparison. The end result is usually quite awesome, but definitely requires some advanced intention. πŸ™‚
    Have a blessed weekend!

  3. I love my slow cooker…. I always find that the food tastes so much better when it has been cooking all day, and the house smells so delightful as well! I love your comparison to the way God works with us as well – so true….

Leave a Reply

