Five Minute Friday: Safe

safe

Joining Kate Motaung and other members of the Five Minute Friday community, for our weekly writing adventure. To learn more about Five Minute Friday, click here. This week’s prompt is, “Safe.”

GO

“Music was my refuge,” wrote the peerless, Dr. Maya Angelou. “I could crawl into the space between the notes and curl my back to loneliness.” Powerful words.

But music has never, to my memory, been my refuge. What music has been was the instrument, the vehicle which reminded me, Who my true Refuge is, and ushered me into His presence when I was hurting. And lost. And confused.  And needing His comfort desperately.

Hymns such as “Hiding in Thee” written by William O Cushing in 1876.

“O safe to the Rock that is higher than I,
My soul in its conflicts and sorrows would fly.
So sinful, so weary, Thine, Thine would I be;
Thou blest Rock of Ages, I’m, hiding in Thee.

Chorus
Hiding in Thee, Hiding in Thee,

Thou blest rock of Ages, I’m, hiding in Thee.  

And, “You are my hiding place.”

You are my hiding place
You always fill my heart
With songs of deliverance
Whenever I am afraid
I will trust in You”

STOP

No. Music is not my refuge. It often is the means by which I am ushered into the presence of my true, Safe Place … my Heavenly Father. The Omnipotent One.

The complete lyrics for, “Hiding in Thee,” can be found here.

 

3 thoughts on “Five Minute Friday: Safe

Leave a Reply

