Five Minute Friday: Breathe

breathe.png

 

Joining Kate Motaung and other members of the Five Minute Friday community for our weekly writing adventure. To learn about Five Minute Friday, click here. This week’s prompt is, “Breathe.”

GO

Children hold their breaths. I wrote the words and have the inner knowing that this is a reminder, even a rebuke to me, and that it speaks of maturity and the need to resist acting like a brat. I am not sure that I will be able to flesh this thought out fully in this post but I have a sense that I will at some point.

Children hold their breath. Sometimes, one article notes, it is done involuntarily such as in those moments when it is the result of intense crying. Sometimes, however, breath holding is voluntary and associated with tantrums.

I have not thrown a tantrum as an adult. And I do not deserve a medal or applause for that which is not unusual in childhood. But let me clarify. I have not thrown a tantrum in the physical realm but I know I have done so in the realm of the spirit.

Breathing involves, at its simplest level, the acts of breathing in and breathing out. And there are times I refuse to expel what is harmful to me, wrong ways of thinking, for example … spiritual carbon dioxide, so to speak. And when I do so it is hard to breathe in the life He offers. And I hear Him gently but firmly insist, “Just breathe, Esther. Just breathe.” And He helps me do just that.

STOP

10 thoughts on “Five Minute Friday: Breathe

  1. It is so important to let go of the things that hold us back. I love how you compare the carbon dioxide to those very things we are much better off expelling from our lives. And your picture is just lovely.
    Visiting from FMF.
    Have a wonderful weekend.
    Kelly #90

Leave a Reply

