Five Minute Friday: Refine

refine.png

Joining Kate Motaung and the Five Minute Friday Community (on a Saturday) after an absence of many weeks, for our weekly writing adventure.  To learn about Five Minute Friday, click here. This week’s prompt is “Refine.”

GO

I want to be a refined lady, “elegant and cultured in appearance, manner, or taste.” “Cultivated, well mannered, polished, gracious,” with impeccable taste. I want to be a refined lady.

My Abba also wants me to be refined. But His focus is not on my outward appearance. No, His focus is on my true self, my inner being. His focus is on what cannot be seen with the natural eye but which can be revealed through my words, behaviors, and priorities. He is focused on changing me into the image of His Son.

His process of refining me, and all His children, as C. H. Spurgeon, noted in his message, “Refined, But Not With Silver,” is done with discrimination with regard to the means He uses to refine us. He knows us intimately, created us uniquely, and tailors His refining process based on His knowledge of us. He is committed to refining each of us and does so with compassion, love, and patience and will complete the process.

STOP

I will be a refined lady but not in outward appearance. From the inside out.

 

10 thoughts on “Five Minute Friday: Refine

  1. That was wonderful! He refines us based on His knowledge of us. And who knows us better than our creator? You hit everything I needed to read this morning. Lovely post!
    Dropping by from FMF.
    Have a wonderful weekend!
    Kelly 🙂

  2. Amen! Love your almost-last thought–God will refine us, he will complete the process. This was my first week in FMF & I found that another definition for the Spanish translation of Refine means to finish or complete! I always love finding common links among the thoughts & words of many.

Leave a Reply

