Five Minute Friday: Surrender

 

surrender-jpg

Joining Kate Motaung and other members of the Five Minute Friday Community for our weekly writing adventure. To learn about Five Minute Friday, click here. This week’s prompt is “Surrender.”

All to Jesus, I surrender;
All to Him I freely give;
I will ever love and trust Him,
In His presence daily live.

Refrain
I surrender all, I surrender all,
All to Thee, my blessed Savior,
I surrender all.

The lyrics above are the first verse and the refrain of the hymn, “I surrender all,” written by Judson W. Van DeVenter in 1896. I learned this hymn as a child and, for many years, thought that my surrender to God was a one-time deal, much like is seen in images of various generals surrendering after losing a war. Life has taught me, however, that my surrender is a daily, sometimes, minute by minute process. And a life-long one.

I have learned that I may have surrendered to Him in one area of life only to discover that there are other areas where I am resisting and pushing against His Lordship. And He is King of Kings and Lord of Lords. He is sovereign apart from me. But it is my obedience, it is my surrender with every choice that I make which establishes His Lordship in my life, and liberates me to experience the fullness of life that He desires and designed me to have. Surrender.

To read posts on this prompt by other members of the Five Minute Friday community, click here.

 

11 thoughts on “Five Minute Friday: Surrender

  1. Yes, I wrote about surrender being a process also. Thank you for sharing your heart about surrender. I hope you have a lovely weekend!

  2. so much truth. Surrender is a daily thing. There often seems to be more that we must surrender and sometimes, surrender again because it’s so easy to take it back into your own hands.
    I miss these invitational songs. We seldom here them these days.

Leave a Reply

