Five Minute Friday: Enjoy

enjoy

Joining Kate Motaung and other members of the Five Minute Friday Community for our weekly writing adventure. To learn about Five Minute Friday, click here. This week’s writing prompt is, “Enjoy.”

GO

“Enjoy” – possess or benefit from. I read this definition of enjoy and thought of the Thanksgiving holiday and the practice of giving thanks around the dining room table for what we have, both people and things.

I think of this practice and I think of what I possess or benefit from. There are many things from which I benefit; this is true. But, strangely enough, I am stuck on the word possess. Possess. As in own something.

I know that the reason I am stuck on this word is because of a verse I read earlier. This verse begins with the hard question, “Who do you think you are?” It continues with, “Everything you have was given to you. So, if everything you have was given to you, why do you act as if you got it all by your own power? (1 Corinthians 4:7, ERV).

This verse reminds me that I own nothing. I am a steward. A truth reinforced by verses such as Deuteronomy 8:18, which reminds me that HE gives me the power to gain wealth. And Acts 17:28 (NIV) which states, “For in HIM we live and move and have our being. “ And 2 Corinthians 3:5, “We don’t have the right to claim that we have done anything on our own. God gives us what it takes to do all that we do.”

 STOP

I needed this reminder and realize that I need to live within this paradigm: All from and through Him. Nothing without Him.

 

2 thoughts on “Five Minute Friday: Enjoy

  1. I appreciate your reminder straight from the word of God. I must agree with you, “I need to live within this paradigm: All from and through Him. Nothing without Him.” What a refreshing exhortation as I approach my Thanksgiving celebration. Thank you

Leave a Reply

