Five Minute Friday: Journey [and an Announcement]

journey

Joining Kate Motaung and other members of the Five Minute Friday community for our weekly writing adventure. To learn about Five Minute Friday, please click here. This week’s prompt is “Journey.”

GO

I am a poet and a writer. And now a published author. The journey to this place began in childhood with a story of a girl who was afraid of fire but braved a burning house to rescue her beloved baby brother. A simple plot. “Love makes you brave your fears.”

The journey involved seasons I did not plan for and did not desire. But it also involved a love of words and the recognition of the gift of writing that He has given. And the desire to write which ebbed and flowed.

It also included the encouragement and prayers of family and friends. And this space, Five Minute Friday. 

Someone noted when I informed him that I have a blog, “You must have a lot to say.” But it was not that I have a lot to say. It is that there are things I want to share. Things which have encouraged and strengthened me. Words that have helped me heal and set me on my feet again. And the love, faithfulness, and abounding grace of a God and Father, Who has never let me down and will never let me go. And Who has walked with me in every step of this journey through earth. And Who I look forward to seeing face to face.

STOP

sb-cover

I am excited to announce that my book, Sliced Bread: Food for the spirit, has been published. God be praised. The launch date is November 15, 2016. Please see my website http://eadamswright.com/ for additional information. Details about a virtual book launch will be available soon. Here is the description.

“Sustenance. We all need it physically and spiritually.

Here in Sliced Bread: Food for the Spirit, through moving insights and personal anecdotes, E. W. Wright, offers words of substance, faith, purpose, and God’s faithfulness in every season of life.

A table has been set, and you are welcome. Pull up a chair, and partake of the sustenance contained in this book. Take a slice or two, or consume the whole loaf at one sitting. Some slices will be easily digested. Others may require some chewing, but all will nourish. Bon appétit.”

 

 

6 thoughts on “Five Minute Friday: Journey [and an Announcement]

  1. Hey E! Wow, I bless you dear sister for this new book coming out, how precious, how special. You are so right to say words heal – amen. May your weekend be a time of refreshing! I will make a note to chekc back on your virtual book launch, God is so good – my book launch is tomorrow here in South Africa. I am excited and nervous! Much love and blessings Aliyah (setapartwarrior.blogspot.co.za)

  2. Congratulations on your book- it sounds great- and I love what you say about your motivation for writing being to share words that have encouraged, strengthened and healed you and to testify to God’s love and faithfulness.

Leave a Reply

