Bouquet

bouquet

When I thought of the word bouquet, usually I thought of flowers. That is until recently when I learned that a bouquet is also a distinctive and characteristic fragrance usually associated with wine. And I wondered, does worship have a fragrance? If it does have a fragrance, what does my worship from my heart smell like to Him? Similarly, what does my worship smell like to Him when I am worshipping Him out of duty and obligation?

I know that David asked once, as documented in Psalm 141:2, “Let my prayer be counted as incense before You; the lifting up of my hands as the evening offering.” And I think of His word in Psalm 50:23, “Whoever offers praise glorifies Me…” And of Hebrews 13:15 which states, “Through Him therefore, let us at all times offer up to God a sacrifice of praise, which is the fruit of lips that thankfully acknowledge and confess and glorify His Name.” Praise and worship, offered as a sacrifice. Sacrifices have a scent, do they not? 

The lyrics of the song, “I love You, Lord, state,

“I love You, Lord

And Ii lift my voice,

To worship You …

Take joy my King

In what Your hear

Let it be a sweet, sweet sound

In Your ear

If worship has a fragrance, Abba, let mine be a sweet, sweet fragrance to You.

*-*-*

Day 27 of the 31 Days of Five Minute Free Writes challenge. Today’s prompt is “Bouquet.”

Click here to read previous posts for the series, 31 Days of Five Minute Free Writes.

 

4 thoughts on “Bouquet

Leave a Reply

