Sign

sign

Photo Credit for Chinese symbol for believe

Signs. Evidence of them are presented throughout the Bible, beginning in Genesis. An example of this is the lights God placed in the firmament of the heavens for “signs and seasons.”

And who can forget the miraculous signs He did through Moses and Aaron to set His people free from Egyptian bondage. These particular signs are referred to by various prophets in the OT. Prophets such as Isaiah and Jeremiah and Nehemiah.

Jesus also spoke of signs which will characterize the time when He will return. But I am turning my attention today to Gideon and the fleece. The Bible tells the story of Gideon being called by God to deliver the nation from oppression. He asked God multiple times for a sign that God would do what He said He would do. God answered him. What patience.

But I think of what Jesus said to someone who came to implore Him to heal his son. Jesus said, “Unless you people see signs and wonders, you will by no means believe.” My desire is to get to the place where I believe, not because of what I see, but because of what He said. I want my belief to be based on His Word and nothing else.

*-*-*

Day 25 of the 31 Days of Five Minute Free Writes challenge. Today’s prompt is “Sign.”

Click here to read previous posts for the series, 31 Days of Five Minute Free Writes.

 

 

3 thoughts on “Sign

  1. Get me to that place is my urgent prayer. Like Dorothy, I have to say and believe way down. I believe, I believe. Lord help my unbelief

Leave a Reply

