Off

off

Sometimes the temptation is strong to “tell someone off.” “To go off” on the person. Give them a piece of my mind. Rake them over the coals. Give them a thorough “tongue lashing. “But I realize that when I yield to this temptation, reconciliation is not my goal. I am most likely driven by the desire to let someone know that I am not one to “mess with,” and pride is usually at play in some part of the process.

Also, when I “tell someone off,” there is no offering of grace here in any way shape or form. And grace is something that I am the recipient off every moment of every day. So how dare I not offer that same grace to someone who has wronged me?

I am not saying that there is never a reason to be angry. Neither am I saying that I should not let someone know that their behavior was hurtful or disrespectful. It is how I say it that makes the difference.

I heard the saying once than “Conflict is inevitable but combat is optional.” We, or let me say I, need to always remember that I am to speak the truth in love. I think also of Colossians 4:6, which states, “Let your speech always be with grace, seasoned with salt, that you may know how you ought to answer each one.” I am not there yet but that is my goal.

*-*-*

Day 22 of the 31 Days of Five Minute Free Writes challenge. Today’s prompt is “Off.”

Click here to read previous posts for the series, 31 Days of Five Minute Free Writes.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

