Notice

 

 

notice-2

I was in graduate school when I received my eviction notice. I felt intense anxiety. And shame. But I also recall my resolve in that moment to tell only God about my need. I am the youngest of a large family and I knew that help would have been activated, even in creative ways, to meet the need, if I had made it known. But something in me wanted to know what it would be like to trust God completely. No, it was not just an idle curiosity. I determined to trust Him fully, no matter what.

I cannot recall how many times I prayed after making that decision but I recall the experience of walking upstairs to my second floor apartment one Saturday, and opening a letter from my sister Dee. In it was the amount I needed and a bit extra. She informed me later that she had the strong impression one day to send me the amount she enclosed. And she obeyed.

“Notice” – become aware of. My Father did not become aware of my need when I did; He is omniscient and always knew this need would arise and met it.

Day 19 of the 31 Days of Five Minute Free Writes challenge. Today’s prompt is “Notice.”

Click here to read previous posts for the series, 31 Days of Five Minute Free Writes.

The video of Sandi Patty singing this encouraging song was added as part of the Mid-week Boost feature of my blog.

6 thoughts on “Notice

Leave a Reply

