Little

little

 

“Little,” is defined by merriam-webster.com as, small in condition distinction, or scope. It also notes that “little” often carries with it the idea of insignificance. But when I look to His written Word, I am shown that to assume small things are insignificant, is a grave error on my part. For example, we are reminded that bits put into horses’ mouths make then obey us; bits are the means by which we can turn the whole animal.

And a rudder is small in comparison to the large ship, but it is used to steer it in the direction the pilot wants to go. And the tongue is small part of the body but, oh, the damage it can cause. We are even told that life and death are in the power of the tongue. We are also reminded that a small spark can start a fire which burns a forest to the ground.

Then there is the reminder that the mustard seed, the smallest of all seeds, grows into the largest of garden plants and becomes a huge tree. And I am sobered when I think of my words and behaviors as little seeds which can reap a harvest greater than I can imagine. I am thankful that I have been given the Spirit of God and if I allow Him to lead me, my harvest can be one that I celebrate instead of one that I regret.

*-*-*

Day 16 of the 31 Days of Five Minute Free Writes challenge. Today’s prompt is “Little.”

Click here to read previous posts for the series, 31 Days of Five Minute Free Writes.

 

Leave a Reply

