Move

move

I have watched them on and off this morning, in the hours I have spent on my back porch. Ever so often the leaves of the potted plants, the rose bushes, and the trees move in response to the gentle breeze that has been here for most of the morning. I watch the leaves move while the pots remain still. But I know that a strong enough wind will or can hurl these pots across my yard and uproot the plants within them. It is also possible that if the winds are strong enough, hurricane force, for example, even the trees can be uprooted.

But I think of Paul and what he said as he was preparing to travel to Jerusalem. All along his journey, he had received messages that he would be bound and afflicted in Jerusalem. Yet he said, “But none of these things move me, neither count I my life dear unto myself, so that I might finish my course with joy…” “None of these things move me.”

I want to be that grounded in God but know that it takes a life time of obedience and trust. And a firm grip on the truths Paul stated in Romans 8: In all things God works for the good of those who love Him; God is for us; We are more than conquerors through Christ and nothing will be able to separate us from the love of God which is in Christ Jesus our Lord.

*-*-*

Day 15 of the 31 Days of Five Minute Free Writes challenge. Today’s prompt is “Move.”

Click here to read previous posts for the series, 31 Days of Five Minute Free Writes.

2 thoughts on “Move

Leave a Reply

