Five Minute Friday & 31 Days: Mail

mail

 

I was a child when I received my first letter in the mail. It was from my brother Samuel. I cannot remember what he said but I do remember how special I felt to receive it from him. That first letter began our letter writing exchange which spanned decades. Our primary ways of communicating now is via email and the occasional telephone call (we live in different countries).

I credit him with the love I developed for letter writing and receiving letters, and some of my most cherished possessions are letters I received from my parents. I recall reading once about a woman’s experience of holding letters she had received from her father, who was a prolific letter writer. She described the feeling of holding his letters after his death and having the awareness that she was holding something her father had touched many years before. I can appreciate this sentiment.

And I like to think of the Bible, in a way, as God’s letters to me. 2 Timothy 3:16 informs us, “All Scripture is God-breathed and is valuable  for teaching the truth convicting of sin, correcting faults, and  training in right living.” So when I hold the Bible and read the words, I am hearing from my Father. And His words are spirit and they are life. Life changing “mail.”

Joining Kate Motaung and other members of the Five Minute Friday Community for our weekly writing adventure which, for the month of October, is included in the 31 Days of Five Minute Free Writes challenge. The prompt is “Mail” and this is Day 14. Click here to read previous posts for the series.

 

 

Leave a Reply

