Aware

aware

After giving thought to today’s prompt on and off for approximately 2 hours, I am aware, cognizant of the fact that I do not know what to write in response to this prompt. I have considered and discarded various themes and options so I have decided to engage in a stream of consciousness process, hoping that something fairly coherent emerges.

I am thinking of the role context plays in my awareness. For example, if I am driving, I tend to be focused on the road, traffic lights, other drivers, etc., However, when I am a passenger, I see things that I was oblivious of while driving.

I am thinking also of the role emotions such as anger can play in what I give attention to, that which stands out. For example, I can become more aware of and be annoyed by the quirks of a loved one during times of conflict. But what can help me overlook those quirks is being aware that I also have flaws and quirks and I also need grace extended to me. And that I am a recipient of God’s grace and mercy every moment of every day.  I can forgive and He helps me to do just that as often as I need to do so.

*-*-*

Day 13 of the 31 Days of Five Minute Free Writes challenge. Today’s prompt is “Aware.”

Click here to read previous posts for the series.31 Days of Five Minute Free Writes challenge.

Leave a Reply

