Walk

 

I am participating in the 31 Days of Five Minute Free Writes challenge which involves posting to my blog each day in October, a post written in only five minutes. Today’s prompt is, “Walk.”

walk

I love walking. It is my primary form of exercise and most week days, I walk for at least twenty minutes, early in the morning. I seem to breathe deeper early in the mornings and am thankful when during my walk, I am blessed with the gifts of a breath taking sunrise and a gentle breeze.

I listen to music as well as audio versions of the Bible when I walk. But there are times when I need the silence and the opportunity to talk to the One Who walks with me. And has given me the promise that whatever the circumstances of my life, He will be there. Through the waters. And the floods. And the fire. And the heartbreak. Step by step. Going before me. Covering me behind. Upholding me. Surrounding me.

And teaching me to walk in love. Which is never something I can never do in my own strength. Not loving the way He loves. As the Amplified Bible translates Ephesians 5:2, “And walk continually in love [that is, value one another – practice empathy and compassion, unselfishly seeking the best for others].” And that is how I want to walk in my daily life. Loving as He loved me. Thank you for the grace to do so, Abba.

 

6 thoughts on “Walk

  1. I’m with you girl– I love a good walk! I always feel so much better after I do it! 🙂
    Its such a great time to unwind and reconnect with God and get in step with Him.
    Thanks for sharing your gift of writing!
    Day #1- Complete!
    Visiting from Write 31 Days #12

  2. Beautiful words and my new favorite version is Amplified. It just opens up the meaning and makes it richer. You’ve inspired me to write. “Walk” is so appropriate for me —- waiting for a surgery date for my knee replacement!

Leave a Reply

