Five Minute Friday: Heal

instaquote_09092016-cjfxbufb70k72ggyykwyog-1

Joining Kate Motaung and the Five Minute Friday community, for our weekly writing adventure. To learn about Five Minute Friday, click here. This week’s prompt is “Heal.”

GO

I cannot give you a specific day and time when HE taught me the lesson that would help me navigate one of the most difficult seasons my family faced. I do remember that it was from a Bible study based on the book of Daniel* and addressed the things that can happen when children of God face fiery trials: We can be delivered from the fire (e.g., a lump turns out to be benign or disappears after prayer); we can be delivered through the fire (e.g., we are diagnosed with cancer, go through chemo, and come out on the other side); and we can be delivered by the fire into His arms, that is, we go HOME. In the first, our faith is built up; in the second it is refined; in the third scenario, our faith is perfected.

I remember praying in full faith, without a shadow of doubt that I was aware of, when I learned of my sister’s diagnosis. Even when she seemed to take a turn for the worse, I kept believing that God would heal her. And HE did but not in the way I wanted Him to. I wanted Him to heal her here on earth. But He did heal her. He healed her completely by taking her home. No more sorrow. No more pain. No more tears.

STOP

Initially, I did not see this. I only knew that my sister died in spite of my fervent, faith-filled prayers. This outcome was difficult on multiple levels and, initially, my faith appeared to be one of the casualties. I questioned whether I should continue to pray for anyone to be healed. Then, in HIS mercy, HE gently but firmly reminded me of HIS sovereignty, and of this truth, “My part is to keep on praying and trust Him to heal as He sees fit.” He will heal.

*Beth Moore is the author

10 thoughts on “Five Minute Friday: Heal

  1. This was such a blessing to read today. I felt the same way when my seminary friend Laura fought cancer and then passed away last December.

  2. What a clear way to write about God’s various ways of healing. So sorry to read of your sister’s illness but how beautiful to see the Lord’s fingerprint on a life. Visiting from Five Minutes Friday. – Lori

  3. What sweet words. What tender faith. God is good. All the time. Except that’s hard to say when it doesn’t match our heart’s desire and our mind’s understanding. Gently prayers.

    1. Thanks for your compassion filled response, Amy. It is hard to say but necessary because it is true and I need most to hear myself speak truth when circumstances seem to contradict what I believe. Blessings.

Leave a Reply

