Five Minute Friday: Happy

InstaQuote_05082016 W9DCI4x1BEC0TVLNtaRsPw

Joining Kate Motaung and other members of the Five Minute Friday community for a weekly writing adventure. To learn more about Five Minute Friday, click here. This week’s prompt is, “Happy” and here is my slightly edited offering completed in closer to 8 minutes.

GO

Being happy, at least according to my understanding of Merriam-Webster’s definition of happy (feeling pleasure and enjoyment because of your life, situation, etc.), is a conditional state of mind. But I wonder, does this mean that I cannot be happy unless the circumstances are exactly as I want them to be? Umm.

I think I had an unplanned opportunity today to do a test run of this question. I say unplanned because it was from my viewpoint but as I am learning to consider, “Was the experience part of His plan to ‘grow me up,’ as the saying goes?” (I have been instructed that He is transforming me into the image of His Son). The opportunity came in the garb of a broken air conditioning system which most people who have ever lived through a Texas summer, will consider a nightmare. It happened all the same. And I wrestled with irritation at the home warranty company and the technician who never returned my call. And I will admit that I was losing the fight until I realized I had a choice.

STOP

Whether I was happy or not happy was not up to my circumstances. I had a choice. I reminded myself there are Syrian refugees who would give anything to be living safely in their homes, without air conditioning. And here I was on the border of a major whining session, if not an out right fit. And I believe HE reminded me of what I had read earlier in the day, “His grace is sufficient for me.” I repeated this truth and applied it to my situation, “Your grace is sufficient for me to cope with the circumstances of a broken air conditioning unit, in the summer time, and not be unhappy.” And He enabled me to see that this was indeed an opportunity to become a bit more mature, and thank Him for it.

6 thoughts on “Five Minute Friday: Happy

  1. Yes! It takes effort to remind ourselves of our privileges in these circumstances, and you brought the right attitude to a heated situation (pun intended!) that no doubt helped you cope. This is what we must practice daily.

  2. If you made it through not complaining about a broken air conditioner in the middle of a Texas summer you’re a better person that I am. You are so right though,it’s about perspective. A broken air conditioner with a safe roof would be a dream to many. In the #33 spot at Kate’s this week.

Leave a Reply

