Monday Vitamins: A Child’s Bedtime Prayer

InstaQuote_25072016 su01bns7OUeHV36-sruNVw

 

As a child, I learned the words, “Now I lay me down to sleep. I pray the Lord my soul to keep. If I should die before I wake. I pray to God my soul to take.” I repeated them religiously every night for many years, as my bedtime prayer. Today, I learned that the words are part of, “A Child’s  Bedtime Prayer,” by Henry Johnstone. I read the entire prayer for the first time today and realized that this childhood bedtime prayer, holds truths which are relevant for my adult life:

  • Committing my soul to my heavenly Father’s care is my best choice, in every phase of life and at its end.
  • For the length of my days, I need Him to guide me.
  • God’s eyes are on me and He is my Protector.
  • Praying for and helping others must be a central part of my life.

What truths do you see in this bedtime prayer?

Now I lay me down to sleep.
I pray the Lord my soul to keep.
If I should die before I wake,
I pray to God my soul to take.
If I should live for other days,
I pray the Lord to guide my ways.

Father, unto thee I pray,
Thou has guarded me all day;
Safe I am while in thy sight,
Safely let me sleep tonight
Bless my friends, the whole world bless;
Help me to learn helpfulness;
Keep me every in thy sight;
So to all I say good night.

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “Monday Vitamins: A Child’s Bedtime Prayer

  1. Wow! I’ve never heard that whole prayer either.

    I’m wondering why in the world would we drop the “If I should live ..” part of this prayer. That’s the part we really need.

Leave a Reply

