Five Minute Friday: Create

Joining Kate Motaung and the courageous members of the Five Minute Friday Community for our weekly writing adventure. To learn more about Five Minute Friday, click here. This week’s prompt is “Create.”

“God, create a pure heart in me, and make my spirit strong again,” begged the shepherd and psalmist who became the second king of ancient Israel. Prayed after his sin with Bathsheba and his attempt to cover his sin by murdering her husband, and he was confronted with all of it by the prophet, Nathan. I think he understood that it was not the actions which corrupted his heart but that it was the corruption of his heart which led to his actions.

And I cannot point fingers at David, because my heart too has been corrupted at times by bitterness, and unforgiveness, and envy, and disobedience, and rebellion, and wanting my own way instead of His, and by me feeding it a diet of junk food instead of His Word.

Yes, I too have had to cry out to the Father to create in me a new heart, to cleanse me and He always has. The evidence of a corrupted heart and a clean heart is always my words because it is out of the abundance of my heart that my mouth speaks. And when You have cleansed my heart or created a new one within me, Father, help me to guard it vigilantly because it is the source of life.

Photo Credit

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

