Five Minute Friday: Want

Joining Kate Motaung and the encouraging Five Minute Friday Community for our weekly writing adventure. Please click here to learn more about Five Minute Friday. This week’s prompt is “Want.”

“He made known His ways unto Moses, His acts unto the children of Israel.”

“He made know His ways unto Moses, His acts unto the children of Israel.”

God communicates this truth to us through the psalmist David, in Psalm 103:7

And I believe the difference in how God was experienced by Moses vs. how the children of Israel experienced Him was not because Moses was chosen of God to lead them out of Egyptian bondage into the promised land.

I believe what accounted for the difference, for Moses knowing God’s ways, instead of just His acts as did the children of Israel, was wanting.

Moses wanted to know God’s ways.

Hear him pleading in Exodus 33:13, “… let me know Your ways so that I may know You [becoming more deeply and intimately acquainted with You, recognizing and understanding Your ways more clearly] And that I may find grace and favor in Your sight…”

And I think of the list of wants I too often bring to Him:

Peace

Healing

Provision

Protection

Forgiveness

All good things.

But I want to want Him above everything else.

As Jesus Culture sings

I want to know You

Let Your Spirit overwhelm me

Let Your presence overtake my heart

 want

Leave a Reply

