Five Minute Friday: Haven

I am joining Kate Motaung and other members of the encouraging Five Minute Friday Community, for our weekly writing adventure. Please click here to learn more about Five Minute Friday. This week’s prompt is “Haven.”

anchored in Jesus

“I’ve anchored my soul in the ‘Haven of Rest’
I’ll sail the wide seas no more;
The tempest may sweep over wild, stormy, deep,
In Jesus, I’m safe evermore.”

This Refrain from the hymn, “Haven of Rest,” written by Henry L Gilmour and published in the 1800s, was the first thing that came to mind when I read today’s prompt.

I also thought of another line from the hymn which states, “The ‘Haven of Rest’ is my Lord.” And I am thinking of the definition of anchor – a device attached to a ship or boat by a cable and cast overboard to hold it in a particular place. And of the definition of haven  – a place where you are protected from danger, trouble, etc.; a place of safety or refuge.

I know that something that is anchored is not easily moved and that the choice to be anchored in my ‘Haven of Rest,” and remain anchored in Him, is mine and mine alone. He will always be my refuge and place of safety and I desire to remain anchored in Him, come what way.

 

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “Five Minute Friday: Haven

  1. I really enjoyed reading your post. Like you, I find that God is a huge haven of rest for me. When I am stressed or troubled I can always count on him to provide the calmness that I need for my life. Sometimes it comes in the words of a song that just seem to suddenly come on the radio. Sometimes it comes in a kind gesture by a friend. Sometimes it comes from a few sweet words from a stranger. However it comes, wherever from- there is no doubt that the origin is always God!

Leave a Reply

