Five Minute Friday: Expect

Joining Kate Motaung and other members of the encouraging Five Minute Friday community (after an absence of a few weeks), for our weekly writing adventure. This week’s prompt is “Expect.” To learn more about Five Minute Friday, please click here.

GO

I cannot remember the name of the Bible study but I remember this question from the study, “Would you expect someone in a wheelchair to jump up and give you a hug?” The Bible teacher was talking about the expectations we have of others and it is true that we can expect things of others and of ourselves that are unrealistic, that cannot be met due to lack of ability.

Ah, but I am so thankful that I can expect, and so can you, so much from our Father. I can expect (defined by Merriam-Webster as, anticipate or look forward to the coming or occurrence of) Him to hear me when I call on Him. He tells us in Psalm 50:15, “Call on Me in the day of trouble, I will deliver you, and you will honor Me.”

I can expect that when I confess my sins He will be faithful and just to forgive me and cleanse me from all unrighteousness. I can expect that when I am hurting for whatever reason, even when the hurt is the result of my choices, I can expect that He, “the Father of compassion and the God of all comfort,” will comfort me.

STOP

Yes, I can expect all this and more from my Father based on His promises and His unchanging, faithful character. My expectations of Him will always be based on my knowledge of Him. This truth makes deepening my knowledge of Him through time in His presence in prayer and in His word essential. May I ask a question? What do you expect of Him and why?

expect

 

2 thoughts on “Five Minute Friday: Expect

  1. Excellent words! A great reminder of His grace for us. Praise God that He is unchanging and forgives us in our sin. following you at Kate’s place today.

Leave a Reply

