Five Minute Friday: Easy

katemotaung.com-5

Joining Kate Motaug and other members of the caring and encouraging Five Minute Friday community for our weekly writing adventure. To find out more about Five Minute Friday, please click here. This week’s prompt is “Easy.”

GO

I read the prompt and the title of a song by Bobby Scot and Bob Russell, “He Ain’t Heavy, He’s My Brother” came to mind. I admit to being puzzled by the word association because I could not see a connection between “Easy” and “He Ain’t Heavy, He’s My Brother” but I decided to keep writing to see what emerges. So you are along with me for the ride, I hope.

I find myself thinking of a verse from Hebrews* which speaks of the fact that Jesus, the author and perfecter of our faith, “for the joy which was set before Him, endured the cross, despising the shame.” And I think of the fact that redeeming us was not the easy path for Him but it was a path he trod and a sacrifice He made willingly and joyfully. And in redeeming us, we were not redeemed to be servants but to be children of God. God became Father, not just Creator. Hear Hebrews 2:11, “Both the one who makes people holy and those who are made holy are of the same family. So Jesus is not ashamed to call them brothers and sisters.” We are part of God’s family. Oh, now I see the connection between easy and “He Ain’t Heavy,  He’s My Brother.”

STOP

He did not consider the cost of redeeming us, the cost of making us part of His family, a cost too much to bear, a price too heavy. He thought we were worth it.

*Hebrews 12:2

14 thoughts on “Five Minute Friday: Easy

  1. I love how our minds work as we scramble to write on the prompt! The idea that Jesus is our brother and he’s already carried us and will continue to carry us is just beautiful.

  2. First thing that came to mind was…

    Come unto me all ye that labor and are HEAVY laden, and I will give you rest. Take my yoke upon you, and learn of me; for I am meek and lowly in heart: and ye shall find rest unto your soul. For my yoke is EASY, and my burden is light. Matthew 11:28-30

Leave a Reply

