Five Minute Friday: Alive

A joyous Resurrection Season, everyone. I am joining Kate Motaung and other members of the encouraging and courageous Five Minute Friday community for our weekly writing adventure. To learn more about Five Minute Friday, please click here. This week’s prompt is “Alive.”

alive-768x768

GO

I was dead once.

Yes, dead.

And no amount of human effort, even aided with the finest in technology could resuscitate me. Because I was not physically dead. I was dead in trespasses and sin.

And it was not even my fault.* As 1 Corinthians 15:22 documents, my deadness was due to my ancestor and yours, Adam.

Ah, but God, but God. “But because of His great love for us, God, Who is rich in mercy, made us alive with Christ even when we were dead in transgressions – it is by grace you have been saved.” (Ephesians 2: 4-5).

And when He made me alive in Christ it was not a resuscitation of the old me. No, dear friend. It was not even a makeover. He made me a new creation. Brand new. The old things gone and  everything new. And one day I will be completely like Him for I will see Him as He is. Now that is reason to rejoice!

STOP

*Postscript: Although it is not our fault that we were born spiritually dead, the choice to remain spiritually dead and separated from the life of God in Christ Jesus, is completely our own.

 

 

3 thoughts on “Five Minute Friday: Alive

  1. Thank you so much for this reminder. Your post reminds me that my Pastor says that is vitally important to keep preaching the gospel to ourselves daily to remember the goodness of God and Christ’s sacrifice for us.

Leave a Reply

