Those who know, trust

“Trust in and rely confidently on the Lord with all your heart and do not rely on your own insight or understanding” (Proverbs 3:5, AMP).

“Trust Me.” Next to the words, “Do not fear,” “Trust Me,” are the words which God seems to say to me most frequently. No surprise here because the process of trusting my Father constantly and unwaveringly, in all seasons, is an ongoing lesson. Do I have any witnesses?

The original version of the poem below, “Those who know, trust,” was first published on this blog on March 16, 2015. Of the poems I have written, it is one of my favorites because it is an accurate depiction of my process of learning to trust my Father. I thought I would share this slightly revised version, with the hope that it encourages someone.

“Those who know, trust”

“I am with you always,”
The Eternal, Always-Existed One has promised.

Sometimes I stretch full out on His words,
like a home on its foundation.
Pull them up like a blanket,
to keep the chill of the unknown at bay.

At other times I inspect the words carefully,
as if He has a reputation for being untrustworthy.
Testing them like Mr. Beaver in “The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe,
tested the ice of the frozen river before trusting his weight to it.

But He is the unchanging One
and the distrust I sometimes feel is baseless,
residual,
an inheritance, as Ann Voskamp notes,
from the first ones created,
who heard a question and believed a lie.

So I reach for the antidote
bottled in Psalm 9:10,
“Those who know Your name trust in You, for You, LORD,
have never forsaken those who seek You.”

Your Name embodies Who You are.
Personal, intimate, growing knowledge of You
is the antidote to distrust.
Seeking to know You intimately must be my primary pursuit.
For those who know, trust.

 

 

2 thoughts on “Those who know, trust

Leave a Reply

