Five Minute Friday: Forget

“Joining Kate Motaung and a community of courageous and encouraging writers for Five Minute Friday. This week’s prompt is “Forget.”

GO

“Forget it,” we are told by those who know we are struggling with a hurt, or something difficult from our past.

“Forget it. You need to move on.” All of these statements have value, depending on the impact remembering has on my life. For example, if remembering leaves me holding on to bitterness,  resentment, anger, then I do need to forget, as in forgive, and stop rehearsing the hurt. And let God heal me.

Problem is, there are times when I remember what I should forget and forget what I should remember, as in, Whose I am.

One of my favorite songs by Jason Gray, is “Remind me who I am,” from his album, A way to see in the dark.

Here are some of the lyrics:

When I lose my way
And I forget my name
Remind who I am
In the mirror all I see
Is who I don’t wanna me
Remind me who I am …

Tell me once again
Who I am to You, who I am to You
Tell me, lest I forget
Who I am to You, that I belong to You
To You

That is one thing I want to become better at remembering – Whose I am. That I belong to Him and am accepted in the Beloved.  Don’t you?

STOP 

Remind me who I am

5 thoughts on “Five Minute Friday: Forget

Leave a Reply

