The best kind of wondering

Today’s post is inspired by the comment of a fellow blogger who feels like a kindred spirit, although we have not met in person. She noted, in response to my most recent post, “… to wonder at God’s character and love is the best kind of ‘wondering.’”  As I reflected on her words, I was inspired to share words which, to me, are an example of “the best kind of wondering.”

I pray that we all end 2015 engaged in this “the best kind of wondering” and commit to engage in the practice throughout 2016. We can count on His best for the new year as we live from a place of surrender and gratitude. Blessings.

“I stand in awe”*

You are beautiful beyond description
Too marvelous for words
Too wonderful for comprehension
Like nothing ever seen or heard
Who can grasp Your infinite wisdom?
Who can fathom the depth of Your love?
You are beautiful beyond description
Majesty, enthroned above

CHORUS
And I stand, I stand in awe of You
I stand, I stand in awe of You
Holy God, to whom all praise is due
I stand in awe of You

VERSE 2
You are beautiful beyond description
Yet God crushed You for my sin
In agony and deep affliction
Cut off that I might enter in
Who can grasp such tender compassion?
Who can fathom this mercy so free?
You are beautiful beyond description
Lamb of God who died for me

© 1986 Sovereign Grace Praise (BMI)

*by Mark Altrogge. Lyrics from the website http://sovereigngracemusic.org/Songs/I_Stand_in_Awe/23

Leave a Reply

