Monday Vitamins: Thanks giving

The first sentence of Psalm 138 is my focus today but because the entire psalm is a delight to me, I  am sharing all the verses first, before focusing on the first sentence. Before we go any further can we pause and thank our Father for His goodness? Also, can we pray for our brothers and sisters who are victims of terrorism all over the world? Thanks for joining me.

Psalm 138 (NKJV)
1 I will praise You with my whole heart;
Before the gods I will sing praises to You.

2 I will worship toward Your holy temple,
And praise Your name
For Your lovingkindness and Your truth;
For You have magnified Your word above all Your name.

3 In the day when I cried out, You answered me,
And made me bold with strength in my soul.

4 All the kings of the earth shall praise You, O Lord,
When they hear the words of Your mouth.

5 Yes, they shall sing of the ways of the Lord,
For great is the glory of the Lord.

6 Though the Lord is on high,
Yet He regards the lowly;
But the proud He knows from afar.

7 Though I walk in the midst of trouble, You will revive me;
You will stretch out Your hand
Against the wrath of my enemies,
And Your right hand will save me.

8 The Lord will perfect that which concerns me;
Your mercy, O Lord, endures forever;
Do not forsake the works of Your hands.

“I will praise You with my whole heart…”

I suspect that we have all been guilty on occasion of giving our Father obligatory, half-hearted thanks.  Thankfully, we can choose at any given moment to thank Him wholeheartedly. In my next post, I will reflect on possible reasons our thanks giving can be half-hearted. For now, I will end with a quote from Sarah Young’s devotional, Jesus calling.

“A thankful heart has plenty of room for Me.”

 

5 thoughts on “Monday Vitamins: Thanks giving

    1. Thanks for your encouraging and wise words, Brie. It is unfortunate that, although there are reasons every day to be thankful and express gratitude, too often we focus on what we want to the extent that we devalue what we have. Blessings.

Leave a Reply

