Five Minute Friday: Dance

Joining Kate Motaung and other courageous writers who are part of the Five Minute Friday Community. Today’s prompt is “Dance.”

WP_20151106_20_51_05_Pro 3

The dance of anger, The dance of intimacy, The dance of deception, The dance of fear, and The mother dance. These are all titles of non-fiction books written by Dr. Harriet Lerner, on of my favorite authors and clinical psychologist. Dr. Lerner’s books speak to the issues women face in family relationships.

I like the idea of a relationship as a dance .. with steps and music that are familiar to the partners. The challenges come when one of the partners decides to make a change to the steps and the music, based on the perception that the current dance is unhealthy or unsatisfying. I think of the confusion and even resistance with which the other partner, who is satisfied with the way things are, can respond. But I believe the challenges can be overcome when both partners are committed to pleasing the One who gives songs in the night and allow Him to dictate both the steps and music of the relationship.

 

10 thoughts on “Five Minute Friday: Dance

  1. This is beautiful! So glad I stopped by and thank you for visiting my blog! This is so true:
    “I believe the challenges can be overcome when both partners are committed to pleasing the One who gives songs in the night and allow Him to dictate both the steps and music of the relationship.” His way is always best. Blessings!

  2. Yes, I have been thinking thoughts along those same lines. (I guess my linked post gives that away near the end…) Thank you for this. So glad I read it. I haven’t read any of Dr. Lerner’s writing, but I think I’m going to look for it. Sounds like helpful wisdom may reside there–as here. (And that photo at the top: strikingly beautiful!)

  3. Yes, the originator of our music within, will always guide us in the beautiful dance step bringing harmony to others and self. Blessings

  4. Hello E,

    This is so beautifully written. Dance is a good picture of relationships and emotions. Just the word itself stirs up so many emotions and memories.

    Thank you for sharing! Susan

  5. E – love this connection between dance in relationships, entirely true. I would love to read those books, they sound very interesting. Thank you for sharing and see you on Five Minute Friday!

Leave a Reply

