Christ, at home in our hearts

“And I pray that Christ will be more and more at home in your hearts, living within you as you trust in Him…” (Ephesians 3:17, TLB)

A friend of several decades means it when she tells a guest, “Make yourself at home.”  The first time I spent the weekend with her and her family, during the early days of our friendship, after taking me to the guest bedroom to deposit my bags, she walked me into the kitchen. There she opened cabinet doors and the refrigerator to familiarize me with the contents.  We moved on through other rooms in the house with my friend opening doors to reveal where items such as extra bed linen, towels, etc. were stored. Then to the family room in the basement, where she demonstrated how to use the television and other devices. My friend made it clear that her home was mine for the duration of the current visit and all future ones.

As I read and reread the words, “And I pray that Christ will be more and more at home in your hearts, living with you as you trust in Him,” I wondered about the reality of Jesus being at home in my heart, as I was in my friend’s home. And I thought of a song I sang as a child:

Into my heart, into my heart
Come into my heart, Lord Jesus
Come in today, come in to stay
Come into my heart, Lord Jesus

I invited Him in as a child but Ephesians 3:17 invites me to reflect on whether He is fully at home in my grown-up heart as He was in my childhood heart. Is Christ increasingly at home there, “living within” as I trust in Him? If He is not “more and more at home” in my heart how will I know, and what then needs to happen in my heart to make this a reality?  Are there doors I closed over the years which I need to unlock to give Him unrestrained access?  Walls which need to be demolished?

What about you?

Let us commit to taking whatever steps are necessary for Him to be “more and more at home” in our hearts.

Leave a Reply

