Five Minute Friday: Yes

Joining Kate Motaung and a group of courageous writers once more, for Five Minute Friday. Today’s prompt is, “Yes.” To learn more about Five Minute Friday, click here.

yes

Being a firm believer in healthy boundaries and the absolute necessity of having them in order to have healthy relationships and not run myself into the ground, “No,” is a word I rarely have difficulty saying.

Sometimes it is sharp.

Sometimes cold.

Sometimes said with a smile.

Sometimes spoken non-verbally but clearly conveyed, as when communicating with a child who may be across the room, or even a child that is not mine in any way, shape or fashion … as in a child having a tantrum in a public place. No is not a word I struggle with too often.

What I do struggle with more, however, is saying, “Yes.”

“Yes,” to the things that scare me.

“Yes,” to walking in places I sense Him drawing me to, but which are unfamiliar to me.

“Yes,” to loving wholeheartedly.

“Yes,” to being the first to repair a breach, to extend forgiveness.

“Yes,” to stretching myself in my giving.

But He is teaching me that saying the first, ‘Yes” to Him always leads me to the best He has, even when I did not know that is what I needed. I am thankful that He persists in calling and gives me to the courage to say, “Yes,” again and again.

4 thoughts on “Five Minute Friday: Yes

  1. I love the reminder that saying “Yes” to God will make it easier to discern who else I should also be saying yes to. Thank you for sharing your heart. I am your neighbor at Kate’s.

  2. This is lovely, E. I have the opposite challenge: saying No has been infinitely harder than my Yes. But I’m stretching myself and learning that a healthy No opens the way for an authentic Yes. I love your courage here in stretching yourself in these yeses. It sounds like it’s expanding you, which is always worthwhile, isn’t it? Peace to you.

Leave a Reply

