Musings

Words.

Labels.

I have been thinking much recently about the power of words, particularly how they can be used to label human beings as … other, different, and how different can sometimes be synonymous with inferiority, deficiency, lacking value, being less than. I am thinking also of how labels can be used to intimidate and silence others, and how even the threat of being labeled unfavorably can and does have a similar impact.

I have been thinking much recently about the power of words… of how carelessly we can use them and how our carelessness, in a moment, can inflict wounds which take a very long time to heal, even after our most heartfelt apologies.

I have been thinking much recently about the power of words and how He tells us that it is out of the abundance of our hearts that our mouths speak. And I wonder, if we recorded our words over a 24 hour period, what would they reveal about the condition of our hearts?

I have been thinking much recently about the power of words and His statement that words kill and words give life. I wonder, how much life did I speak today? How much death did my words produce? I wonder and I desire that my words build up more than they destroy, that my words edify according to the need of the moment and give grace to those who hear them. I recognize that this desire is good but developing the discipline necessary to make this desire a reality and be intentional about the content placed and stored in my heart,  is even more beneficial.

6 thoughts on “Musings

  1. In my opinion, I think the core root of it has to be love. If we do not have love, we are nothing but a resounding gong of a cymbal. In order to produce this discipline, I think we need to learn to love the way Christ does. Through that, we can have words of edification for our brothers and sisters. So maybe, the question isn’t so much of “do my words build more than they destroy?” but perhaps the real question lies in “As I deepen my love for Christ, does my love for his children also deepen?”

    Great post though. I can see how self reflective you are and that is an admirable trait. It’s so refreshing to see Christians strive to be more sanctified and godly. Thank you for this lovely post.

    1. John, I appreciate you taking the time to comment. You raise an interesting question. I think it will be very difficult for our love for Christ to deepen without a corresponding love for His children. I thinking here of His statement tying loving Him to obeying Him (John 14:15, 21) and one of His commandments is that we love one another as He loves us (John 13:34-35). I not sure how we can truly love Him and not love each other (speaking here not of the emotion but the daily choice to be loving). Like I said, an interesting question.

      1. You’re right. My apologies if what I wrote was misunderstood. We must both love Him and his children. One cannot go without the other.

Leave a Reply

