Wednesday Musings

Sharing musings on “this and that.”

Sufficient for me.

  • He said, “My grace is sufficient for you.” Am I putting a question mark where He has a period? Am I turning His statements into a question, asking in some circumstances, even if I only do so internally, “Is His grace truly sufficient for me?” Do I say, “Yes, LORD. Your grace is sufficient for me,” even in the hard, shattering, confusing places of life, or do I, by my behavior, scream, “No, it is not! I need something more!”

Love – not only an emotion

  • Many of us have felt love, both as a recipient and a giver. Some have even experienced the stuff of story books and movies, for example, “weakness in the knees,” “breathlessness,” and “butterflies in the stomach.” Yes, love is an emotion but it is also a decision which often requires sacrifice. Love is sustained by commitment and the desire to please God. In addition, He has poured, not sprinkled, His love into our hearts by the Holy Spirit and teaches us how to love others.

Growth Rate

  • I am rereading Max Lucado’s book, Grace, and on occasion have wondered, “Have I really read this book before?” In the chapter I read recently, he highlighted the fact that God’s plan has always been to shape our lives “along the same lines as the life of His Son.” In addition, he noted, “We are increasingly Him.” His words led me to 2 Corinthians 3:18, “And we all, who with unveiled faces contemplate the Lord’s glory, are being transformed into His image with ever-increasing glory, which comes from the Lord, who is the Spirit” (emphasis added). I wonder, “What is my growth rate?” “How quickly am I being transformed into His image?” “Am I cooperating with the transformation process or resisting, and in so doing slowing or prolonging the process?” Umm.

What are some of the topics/issues/concerns about which you have been musing recently?

Leave a Reply

