Five Minute Friday: Follow

Return directions in hand, I had driven out of town to be her “person” at the wedding of someone she loved. The wedding ceremony was moving and the reception fun. I had expected to return home early the next day but she was invited to a breakfast with the couple and their family, and since I was her ride back, and she was my “person” aka “sister-of-another-mother” I agreed to go along.

The problem was, I did not have directions to the location where the breakfast was being held. The solution was for me to follow her daughter who knew the location. So I did, but I think she forgot at times that I was following her. I, on the other hand, did not have such lapses of memory. I was following hard after her. Keeping her car in sight. Praying that no cars came between us. Remember I did not know where I was going. It was not a casual pursuit in any way. I allowed nothing to distract me. I was focused and I was following as close as I could.

I wonder, if I were to observe myself following Him, if I would see the same level of intensity and focus as I had that day. I want to be able to say as David did, “My whole being follows hard after You and clings closely to You.”

ps 63 v8Joining Kate Motaung and a group of courageous writers for Five Minute Friday. The prompt is “Follow.” To learn more about Five Minute Friday (and perhaps join us?) click here.

6 thoughts on “Five Minute Friday: Follow

  1. I love this image of you in your car, following for dear life because you don’t know where you’re going. I wish for this same kind of intensity in my following Jesus! Thanks for sharing your thoughts- I’m glad I was your Five-Minute Friday neighbor today. Blessings to you.

Leave a Reply

