Five Minute Friday: Hide

“Hide me now,” I sang through tears
Gathered together in the church which was her spiritual home for years after she came to faith in Jesus
Gathered together with those who had also shared my mother’s womb
And the son who had inhabited hers
The family friends
Cousins
And our only living aunt
“Hide me now”

I had been alive for over 4 decades
But I felt like a child, scared, vulnerable
Not old enough to navigate the death of my sibling
“Hide me now under Your wings
Cover me within Your mighty arms
When the oceans rise and thunders roar
I will soar with you above the clouds
Father, You are King over the flood”
The flood of grief, sorrow, and confusion that is threatening to take me under

“Father, You are King over the floods”
I will be still even though I do not understand You taking her home now
I will be still and know that You are God

“Hide me,” I prayed and He did.

Joining Kate Motaung and a community of courageous writers for Five Minute Friday. The prompt is “Hide.” To learn more about Five Minute Friday (and perhaps join us?) click here.

The lyrics mentioned above are from the song, “Still.” The video is included below.

 

8 thoughts on “Five Minute Friday: Hide

  1. Oh, the flood of such grief. It can feel a cruel and crushing flood… and yet, how we are hidden in this grace of God’s presence, there with us whether we feel it or not. Thank you for sharing so deeply from your heart. I’m sad for your loss, E.W.

  2. Joining you from FMF. I had never heard that song. It is beautiful. Thank you for sharing! Have a wonderful weekend!

  3. I am so very sorry for your loss! My family has been facing a spiritual and emotional death these past few months. It has been such a powerful experience, painful, but poignant. There have been days when I’ve clung to Him like a child, unable to do anything but weep in His arms. Love and peace and joy and comfort to you during this time.

Leave a Reply

