Playlist: “First”

He was a preteen who, due to circumstances outside of his control, was no longer living with his mother. She communicated by telephone daily, or at least attempted to do so. One day, after he was given the telephone to speak with her, his first words were requests for items he desired. “Ask how she is doing before asking for things,” he was firmly reminded by one of his caregivers.

Like him, I too need the reminder to focus on my Father first, when communicating with Him. He will not reject me if and when, like the preteen, my first words to Him are requests; however, I stand to benefit much by focusing on Who He is through worship, and expressing thanks for what He has already done. One benefit is that my attention shifts from my problems to Him and I am reminded of His greatness and goodness. Such reminders are always, always uplifting.

“First,” a song by Lauren Daigle, encourages this practice. Multitracks.com notes that the song is based on Matthew 6:33, and “expresses a desire to put God ahead of everything else in our lives, bringing Him our worship before we bring Him our needs.”

Here are the video and lyrics.

Before I bring my need
I will bring my heart
Before I lift my cares
I will lift my arms
I wanna know You
I wanna find You
In every season
In every moment
Before I bring my need
I will bring my heart
And seek You

First
I want to seek You
I want to seek You
First
I want to keep You
I want to keep You
First
More than anything I want, I want You
First

Before I speak a word
Let me hear Your voice
And in the midst of pain
Let me feel Your joy
Ooh, I wanna know You
I want find You
In every season
In every moment
Before I speak a word
I will bring my heart
And seek You

First
I want to seek You
I want to seek You
First
I want to keep You
I want to keep You
First
More than anything I want, I want You
First

You are my treasure and my reward
Let nothing ever come before
You are my treasure and my reward
Let nothing ever come before
I seek You

First

Leave a Reply

