Five Minute Friday: Visit

Joining Kate Motaung and a community of courageous writers for Five Minute Friday. The prompt is “Visit.”

GO

A visit, by its very nature, is temporary. Even when the visit is an extended one, it is momentary, a temporary process.

We pack differently for visits than we do when we are taking up residence in a place. We make take a book or two but not our entire library. We pack toiletries but, especially when flying, the sizes may be smaller than what we usually have in our homes. And no matter how nice the location where we are visiting, even the homes of loved ones, we may make ourselves at home but we are not home.

I think of these characteristics of a visit and I cannot help but think of 1 Peter 2:11 which tells us, “Dear friends, I urge you as aliens and temporary residents not to give in to the desires of your old nature which keep warring against you” (emphasis added). I think too of the old hymn, “This world is not my home, I am just passing through.” We should care about the place where we visit but never to the point where we lose track of the fact that we are not Home.

STOP

Prayer: Father, I want to live more conscious of the fact that I am an alien and a temporary resident here on earth, that my time here is limited. Let me not do so in a manner that makes me useless. Instead, with the goal of pleasing You motivating me, may I, to paraphrase a quote often attributed to John Wesley,  “Do all the good I can, by all the means I can, in all the ways I can, in all the places I can, at all the times I can, to all the people I can, as long as ever I can,” because one day, my visit will be over.

https://i0.wp.com/michaelaevanow.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/10/20131029-165920.jpg

Photo Credit

6 thoughts on “Five Minute Friday: Visit

  1. A great reminder that we are aliens in this world. A truth I know, and yet one I have to remind myself of often. I liked how you discussed the way we pack for visits to different places, and yet other places are never like home. I am visiting you from FMF.

  2. What a beautiful thing to remember! It’s easier in the times when I’m not feeling particularly at home — then I delight to know that Home is yet to come. But when this world is sweet, then it is most necessary to remember that this is not forever — Home is yet to come.

    Thank you for reminding me that this isn’t it!

  3. Hello E,

    As I was reading your description what a visit is like as opposed to home, I was thinking of the spiritual application. It got me to wondering if perchance I’m packing too much for my temporary stay this side of eternity.

    Thanks for reminder that we are not of this world!

    Lord bless…Susan

    PS…you are inspiring me to get back to writing for FMF.

Leave a Reply

