Five Minute Friday: Keep

Joining Kate Motaung and a community of courageous writers for Five Minute Friday. The prompt is, “Keep.”

GO

I have never moved, whether it was across town, or across country to another home without asking myself during the packing process, “Why did I keep this?” Usually the question comes at the point where, after carefully packing according to plan – this closet, then this room, I begin to tire of the process or more likely, I realize that I am running out of time. The object can be books, cooking utensils, articles of clothing, you name it. The question does not discriminate and is oft repeated, “Why did I keep this?” or another version, “Why am I holding onto to this?”

I have a friend who is a master at purging her belongings. At least once per year, I believe, she goes through things in her home and makes decisions about what she will give away and what she will discard. And she goes beyond the decision. It is not a “One day I will get rid of these things.” It is a “Beginning today, I will …” and then she does just that.

I want to be like her in that respect because it is not just items that I can hold on to. It can be regret, hurt, disappointment, and the like. It can also be opinions, perspectives on life that I need to let go of or modify. Father, help me to rightly discern what I should keep and what I should let go and do so.

STOP

Keep

6 thoughts on “Five Minute Friday: Keep

  1. I feel like I go through that process of what to keep and what to get rid of often with six children. It’s amazing how quickly things get accumulated. I love what you said about how it isn’t always items that are hard to get rid of when deciding what to keep. I tend to keep what others say stored up in my memory more than I should. Thanks for sharing your thoughts. I am praying that prayer along with you!!!

    • Words have such power, don’t they? I am thankful for the water of God’s written Word that can wash away the words of others, and His grace which empowers us to give His words precedence over all others.

  2. Why do I keep this… that’s a good question. Lots to ponder here! I like your image of the peaceful river, too… and I can envision letting things float away down that river. Thanks for sharing!

  3. Oh this post really hits the mark. There are so many things that we hold on to. When it comes to hurt feelings, negative thoughts, I know that I need to let them go. Thank you so much. Stopping by from FMF, Leigha

Leave a Reply

