Prepare Him Room

Joy to the World, the Lord is come!
Let earth receive her King;
Let every heart prepare Him room…

Prince William and his wife, Kate, the Duchess of Cambridge, are in NY as I write this. I acknowledge unashamedly that I cannot fully imagine all that was necessary to prepare for their visit. I think also of my own preparations when a family member is coming to visit. There are all the different tasks, none which feels onerous, to prepare the guest room just so. There is also the anticipation of the arrival which makes me smile wide and often.

Joy to the World, the Lord is come!
Let earth receive her King;
Let every heart prepare Him room…

My preparations for Christmas Day began the Saturday after Thanksgiving. My tree with its gold snowflakes, balls, ribbons, and clear lights is completely decorated. The mantle above the fireplace has a similar color scheme, combined with a Nativity scene, framed by three red cranberry spice scented candles and two angels, one at each end. A wreath with four battery operated candles are components of the center piece on the coffee table. A wreath hangs on my front door. The menu is a work in progress as are the decorations for the dining room table.

Joy to the World, the Lord is come!
Let earth receive her King;
Let every heart prepare Him room…

What about the preparations of my heart? How am I preparing my heart for Him, my King, this Christmas? How am I preparing myself to celebrate Christmas so that He, my Savior, is truly the focus of the celebration of His birthday? Umm. “Let every heart prepare Him room.”

2 thoughts on “Prepare Him Room

Leave a Reply

